Melbourne Photo a Day: Week seven

31 Mar

Day 43: Screen printing

screen printing

I spent the day learning how to screen print, and a great day it was.  The lesson with The Handmaker’s Factory was a great way to spend a Sunday afternoon.  We learnt the basics of printing, then hand cut and printed our own designs.  I got two designs finished, this boat repeat and a raincloud.  I’m now making my finished prints into (hopefully) usable items and will post them here when they are finished.

Day 44: Toasty

fire at west beach bathers' pavillion

An open fire at The West Beach Bathers Pavilion kept me warm on Monday when the weather took a definite (yet brief) turn towards winter.

Day 45: The Planets

Saturn in St Kilda

All along the beach path in St Kilda are scaled models of the planets in the Solar System.   Saturn sits right by my apartment but I only noticed it today.  Handily yet another beautiful sunset was starting just as I went past.  A gorgeous photo opportunity.

Day 46: Swanston flowers

Flowers on Swanston Street

I love this flower stall on Swanston Street, whenever I walk past it reminds me of Paris.   One day soon I’ll have to treat myself to a bunch.

Day 47: Winning

Trivia prize

A night out at our favourite trivia night at The Bay in Mordialloc resulted in this handsome prize cheque.  OK it was only third position but not bad for just the three of us.

Day 48: Eureka!

View from the Eureka Tower

I hate heights…A LOT.  When I went to the top of The Shard in London I was a quivering wreck, and at the top of the Santa Justa Lift in Lisbon I was so distracted that my purse was stolen.  Regardless I ventured to the top of The Eureka Tower and was pleasantly surprised not to be shaking in the middle of the building.  It was a beautiful day and the views were spectacular.  As ever I was delighted I ignored that voice of doubt and just got on with having fun.

Day 49: When The Saints Go Marching In

St Kilda v GWS at Ethiad

My first AFL game; St Kilda vs. GWS at Ethiad.  My loyalties have been lain with St Kilda which is handy as they won and their theme song is pretty easy to pick up.  The match was frustrating at times but very entertaining and it definitely won’t be my last visit.

Leave a Reply

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

Travel Photos - The Space Between

Photos capturing some of the essence of the places I go...

sweetkimplicity

a wannabe crafter

Cake Box Fox

Food, mess and simplicity

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Wine Bar Theory

Work smarter, not harder

Dresses & Me

I love to sew

DIY Pins & Needles

Monitoring the do-it-yourself online sewing community

Elle Frost

Style & DIY

Oh the lovely things

Adventures with my sewing machine

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

talesfrommykitchenandsewingmachine

Join me on my journey as I spend as much time as possible doing the things I love: Cooking, Baking and Crafts.

sewsewpretty

Adventures with my sewing machine

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

