Melbourne Photo a Day: Week eight

8 Apr

Day 50: Tri Harder

Triathlon in St Kilda

Another Sunday morning, another triathlon in St Kilda.

Day 51: Its all in the prep

cut fabric

What turned out to be a very crafty week started with a day of cutting, pinning and tacking in preparation for a day of sewing.

Day 52: Thread Den

Thread Den

Without my trusty sewing machine here with me in Australia I have had to investigate other ways of staying crafty.  So I was delighted to come across Thread Den – a studio in Collingwood where you can use their facilities by the hour.  At home I have my Nan’s old machine, which is perfectly functional despite being rather ‘vintage’ so it was a bit of a novelty to be using the up to date machines at the studio.  Everything about the space at Thread Den was a treat, including the entrance with its exposed brickwork and vintage style bike.  Three hours later at Thread Den and I was signed up for membership…I think I’ll be spending quite a lot of time there in the next few weeks.

Day 53: Handmade Jewellery

Handmade Jewellery

After four week’s on CAE’s Handmade Jewellery course I’ve learned quite a bit about metal work for jewellery.  I’m definitely no expert but its a start and it was a very interesting few weeks.  These are my two finished items, earrings and a ring, but what is very, very clear is I am long overdue a manicure!

Day 54: Sydney weekender

Flying to Sydney

A quick hop on a plane today for a long weekend in Sydney catching up with old friends.

Day 55: Soggy Sydney

The Australian Heritage Hotel, Sydney

Sheltering from a very wet Sydney in the best way I know. Well it was Friday.

Day 56: Stormy Sydney

Sydney Harbour Bridge

Nursing a slightly sore head after catching up with an old school friend on Friday night, I hopped on the ferry to Manly to meet up with a university friend.  The skies over the Harbour Bridge were starting to look a little daunting but by the time I got to Manly, the clouds had parted and we were able to enjoy a lovely glass of wine in the sun.  The way back was another story though with the ferry lurching from side to side as we made our way back to Circular Quay.  Thankfully the rain held long enough for me to spend the evening up at Sydney Cricket Ground watching the rugby without getting soaked.

Leave a Reply

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

Travel Photos - The Space Between

Photos capturing some of the essence of the places I go...

sweetkimplicity

a wannabe crafter

Cake Box Fox

Food, mess and simplicity

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Wine Bar Theory

Work smarter, not harder

Dresses & Me

I love to sew

DIY Pins & Needles

Monitoring the do-it-yourself online sewing community

Elle Frost

Style & DIY

Oh the lovely things

Adventures with my sewing machine

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

talesfrommykitchenandsewingmachine

Join me on my journey as I spend as much time as possible doing the things I love: Cooking, Baking and Crafts.

sewsewpretty

Adventures with my sewing machine

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

